Welcome, fellow Caregivers!

More and more men are turning up with HPV+ throat cancer, and my husband was one of them, diagnosed on January 11th, 2012.  He was 54 years old, a non-smoker and moderate drinker who worked out at the gym 4-5 times a week, rode his bike, and was so healthy he didn’t even have a primary care doctor.

Needless to say, the diagnosis came as a tremendous shock.

I can’t tell you what it’s like to go through the treatments he endured or his recovery.  I don’t know what it’s like to have throat cancer.  What I do know is what it’s like to help someone through it.    This blog is based on my own experience and is intended to help my fellow caregivers help those we love with throat cancer.

While I am a Licensed Acupuncturist, I will not be giving any kind of medical advice.  What I will do is tell you what we experienced and how we coped.  I’ll tell you how we learned to cope with weight issues, the feeding tube, and radiation burns.   I share recipes, from the famous 1,000 Calorie Shake and recipes for getting a better level of nutrition through the PEG tube than just from guck in a can.  I’ll tell you about support we found and support we created and share various coping mechanisms we learned together through this difficult journey.

Everyone’s diagnosis, treatment, and recovery is unique, so I welcome your input as well.

And please check back as I add new information to the site!

Colleen DeLaney, L.Ac.

Posted on July 5, 2012, in Weight, Food, and Swallowing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Drapaport's Blog

Stories and social commentary by Diane Sward Rapaport

Stellar Maze

Astrology Meets Myers-Briggs

My Outlander Blog!

One lassie's views on everything Outlander

serenitynow3

A topnotch WordPress.com site

HPVANDME | A Non-Profit Organization

Support for those supporting people with HPV+ throat cancer

Support for those supporting people with HPV+ throat cancer

HPV Origin Throat Cancer

Diagnosed July 6, 2012 via Tonsil Biopsy

Caregiving for Throat Cancer

Support for those supporting people with HPV+ throat cancer

